Missouri Valley Section

Institute of Transportation Engineers

Awards & Scholarships



Applications are due annually on April 1. Applications and questions should be directed to the MOVITE Vice President.


Questions should be directed to the Vice President regarding the Student Chapter award and to the President regarding the Chapter award.


Nominations and questions regarding Professional awards should be directed to the MOVITE President.



Each year MOVITE looks to recognize excellence in transportation by making awards to members whose contributions and achievements benefit our profession.  The nomination process and deadlines are detailed in the descriptions of each award below. Please take the time to nominate a MOVITE member or organization or to submit a paper.  Let’s recognize and celebrate our successes.



Thomas J. Seburn Student Paper Award:
  1st Place: Boris Claros, University of Missouri
  2nd Place: Md Attiquzzaman, Southern Illinois University

Jan Kibbe Student Scholarship Award:
  Raha Hamzeie, Iowa State University

Outstanding Student Chapter Award:
  Iowa State University


Best MOVITE Chapter Award:


Young Transportation Professional of the Year:
  Tao Liao

Transportation Achievement Award:
  Kansas City Streetcar Project – The City of Kansas City Streetcar Authority and HDR

Patrick T. McCoy Education Professional of the Year:
  No Award

Distinguished Member Award:
  No Award

John B. Pinkley Industry Member Award:
  No Award

Transportation Professional of the Year:
  Shawn Leight

© Missouri Valley Section. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy
Site Created by KC Web Specialists, LLC.